QQI Logo QQI Logo

The exemptions listed are the only non CAS exemptions that can be submitted by a provider on behalf of a learner achieving a CAS major award. The following conditions apply:
  • Completion of due diligence checks to ensure that the previous qualification is genuine.
  • Only awards which are no more than five years old, may be used to claim an exemption.
  • Only when the learner is in a position to achieve a major CAS award can the relevant exemption(s) be submitted for certification.
Where a learner holding an award that is not on this published list seeks recognition of that award from a provider, the provider must use RPL.

Non-QQI Awards to QQI Components - a mapping

The table below lists which QQI component(s) can be exempted on the basis of a learner holding the Non QQI award indicated. To enable a learner to get the exemption, a QQI registered centre can enter the learner for one of the components listed and tick the Exemption flag. The centre should then identify the alternate award being used for the exemption as the non QQI award code shown here.

Non-QQI Award




Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) Access

QQI Component




Database Methods